I think I’ve figured out why blogging is so hard for me. I’m not a natural writer. I sit here at the computer, hands over the keyboard, and struggle with what to say, or how to say it, or … oh, I don’t know! I feel like I’m over analyzing everything as I write it. It has always been this way. When I was in school, it used to take me hours to write even the smallest of essays. I struggle to get thoughts out of my head and onto the pages of my journal. So please, bear with me. This just does not come easy for me. Hopefully it will get better over time.

Around the middle of March I knit and felted my first Booga Bag. It gets to be the first project update because it’s the only thing I already have pictures of in my camera and the light is really bad today. The pattern was very easy and straightforward and I loved not having anything to seam up at the end. I was worried about felting it, though. I have a top loading high efficiency washing machine. I ended up messing around with the different cycles until I found the combination that seemed to felt the best. It ended up looking pretty good. Here are some pre- and post-felting pictures.

I started to use the bag and realized it needs to be felted a little more to make the fabric tighter. I’ll probably throw it in for another cycle the next time I felt anything. I still think it turned out pretty well, though.

This was also my first time using Noro Kureyon. I loved this yarn. I loved the texture of it in my fingers as I knit it. I loved the beautiful colors. I loved the color repeats. I loved everything about it. I don’t think I would like it in a sweater, but for this project, it was great.

