Life has been very busy lately.  We finally broke down got a rippin’ good deal on an air conditioner unit and have a good friend who works in the industry, so Aaron spent all of last weekend tearing out ducting, installing new ducting, and installing the AC and a new furnace.  I spent most of the time trying to survive the mess and cleaning up where I could.  There’s still some work to be done – enough that I haven’t done a thorough clean up yet – but it is up and running.  My house has looked better, but hey, at least its cool.

I’ve finished quite a few sewing projects in the last couple weeks and was trying to space them all out into different blog posts, but I don’t see that actually happening, so here you go.

First off, sampler block number 5 – Ohio Star

This was a pretty simple block to do, but still fun.  Sorry about the shoddy presentation.  I didn’t realize the block needed ironed until I uploaded the photo.

Next up, a Market bag (Portabellopixie pattern).

Wow, this bag took a long time to sew.  Waaaay more than I had planned on it taking.  This was the first bag I’ve ever sewn from a pattern, with interfacing and fancy topstitching and all of that good stuff.  The fabric is from Amy Butler’s Daisy Chain line.  I picked this pattern because it’s reversible so I didn’t have to choose which of these pretty fabrics is the “outside” of the bag.

I’m slowly building my sewing skill set and learning with each project.  I definitely learned a few things on this bag and my seam ripper got quite the workout. It turned out pretty well, though, if I do say so myself.  I am a little concerned with how stain resistant this bag will be, or more like how it won’t be.  I’ve already gotten a few pretty stubborn marks on it.  I’m wondering if I should have Scotch Guard-ed it.  Hmmm.

I also managed to squeeze in sewing a couple nursing covers for a friend’s baby shower.

I don’t usually show the nursing covers I sew, which is funny because I sew quite a few of them.  They’re so simple it doesn’t seem like good blog fodder to me.  They are a good way to do show off pretty fabrics, though.

Sampler block number 6 is coming up next.  Stay tuned.

