In the little creative time I’ve had lately I’ve been trying to get a few knitting projects started.  I swatched for this sweater (Leela from Berroco) and cast on.  A couple of rows in, I realized I was knitting with the wrong needle size (the ribbing is done on smaller needles), ripped out, changed needles, and cast on again.  Then I realized I need to modify the number of stitches I cast on, as I’m only making it hip-length instead of knee-length, so I ripped out and did some calculations.  By this time, the yarn was getting a little ragged looking.  It’s a linen tape and I don’t think it can take the kind of abuse a good wool can, so I set that ball aside  and cast on again with a different ball.  Now I’m a little over an inch in and completely re-thinking the whole project.  Basically, I’m thinking making it hip-length will make it look like crap.  So it’s probably getting ripped out again.  I really like the yarn and want to use it in something I’ll actually wear and like.

I’ve also started swatching and measuring for Aaron’s sweater, as well, but I don’t have anything to show yet.  I ordered a whole slew of different colors of Cascade 220 to find something to use for the trim.  Sometimes you just need to see the materials in person.  It was too hard to decide off of internet swatches, even with the much appreciated help from the blog.  They’re all neutral colors, so whatever doesn’t get used in this project will definitely get used later on.

Edited to add:  I forgot to remind you to head over to Kootoyoo for more creative spaces.

